Giving the Chrome Browser Another Look

Image courtesy Chrome Plugins http://www.chromeplugins.org/

Finding the right web browser has been quite frustrating for me over the years. I have yet to find one that fits my workflow needs. I generally bounce between Safari and Firefox, and only  minimally with Chrome among others. I’ve recently given the Chrome browser another try as my work-related browser. The same or similar extensions used in my Safari and Firefox browsers are now appearing in Chrome enabling me to do what I could, for the most part, with them. So to see how well the Chrome browser performed, I decided to make it my default browser for a week.

I share a lot of material on Twitter and have been a dedicated Echofon user. Echofon is well-integrated with Safari with the “Current Safari Page” option to copy the title and URL into the update field automatically. Recently I recently started using the HootSuite “Hootlet” on my browser tool bar. I’ve found using the Hootlet is slightly more efficient than using Echofon as I don’t leave the browser to Tweet a page.

Twitter browser extensions were lacking in functionality for my use across multiple Twitter accounts before I returned to Chrome. Hootsuite’s Hootlet has eliminated my  Twitter issues when working in Chrome. The Evernote extension allows me to simultaneously search my Evernote collection when doing a Google search. This feature indicates if I have a resource among the thousands of articles saved in Evernote. The extension does a cleaner job of clipping an article and suggests tags, a real time saver. Several other extensions for launching Google apps, archiving links, and clutter-free reading ala “Clearly” has benefitted my work flow. The only thing that I really miss is the cloud-based note syncing Firefox implementation of Yoono.

I’m nearly a week into using Chrome exclusively. So far, I’m hooked.

About Michael Ritter PhD
Professor of Geography at the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point, science textbook author, educational technology blogger, podcaster, and freelance media consultant.

Leave a Reply

