ZAGGfolio for iPad 3 Review

I recently received a new iPad 3 equipped with a ZAGGfolio case for iPad 3. I also have a first generation iPad equipped with the bluetooth folio keyboard case  from  ThinkGeek  that I reviewed a couple of years ago. At that time, the bluetooth keyboard case was workable but not perfect. Many of the issues I had with the ThinkGeek case have been addressed in my new ZAGGfolio. The carbon fiber shell adds rigidity making it much easier to type when resting the keyboard case on your lap. The short flat closure of the ThinkGeek case was a bit uncomfortable when typing with the case resting on my lap. The ZAGGfolio has no flap closure and is thus much more comfortable.

ThinkGeek Bluetooth Keyboard Case

ZAGG Folio case for iPad 2 & 3

The unit easily paired with my iPad 3 and has not dropped the connection yet, unlike my experience with the ThinkGeek case and my iPad 1. It has one angle when inserted into the keyboard which is perfectly suited to me whether typing at my desk or with it on my lap. The iPad can be snapped out of the case and be placed into portrait mode. The keyboard is removeable and can be used by itself.

Typing was easy as I composed the first draft  in Omnifocus for iPad while sitting on my office sofa.  The keyboard felt slightly cramped for my fingers but didn’t take long to adjust to.  A nice set of function keys reside at the top of the keyboard for home, searching the iPad, pictures, on-screen keyboard, cut, copy, past, media/sound controls, and lock.

The case automatically wakes the iPad when opened and closes with a secure clip. I can’t help but wonder how long it will be before the clip breaks, but the material seems quite durable. It charges using the USB provided cable to plug into a desktop or an iDevice charger. Instructions indicate that it will likely only need to be charged two or three times a year, I’ll see. The case adds 19 oz and a mere .53 in in weight and thickness to the iPad (full tech specs here). It still slips easily into my STM Scout 2 iPad Shoulder bag  by itself or with my 11″ MacBook Air in a STM Scout 2 laptop shoulder bag .

I’ve been quite pleased with my experience using the ZAGGfolio. I’ll be using my iPad more and my MacBook Air less to get my work done as a result of this case. Check out the promotional video below.

About Michael Ritter PhD
Professor of Geography at the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point, science textbook author, educational technology blogger, podcaster, and freelance media consultant.

Leave a Reply

