Journaling with Day One: Your Private Twitter

“Day One: Your Private Twitter” was the message that Day One, a wonderful new journaling app, displayed to me as I opened it to record my thoughts. It’s true, Day One is like Twitter because it makes it easy to dash down a few thoughts whenever you desire. Whether it be through the inspirational messages that appear above your writing space, or that your journal is available anywhere your Apple device is, you’ll be encouraged to write.

I’ve kept a personal journal for over 30 years, nearly two-thirds of my life. I enjoy journaling to capture the small and the significant events of my life, record project ideas, and to blow off steam when situations get the best of me. I began in 1974 with a 8 1/2 X 11 hardbound paper journal then switched to a more compact 4X5 inch version that I could easily carry in my day pack. Once mobile computing devices began to appear, I started experimenting with other formats to capture my thoughts. I made the switch to a digital journal soon after I purchased by first laptop  but it was not as convenient as the small 4X5 paper version. And being digital, I had to make sure to backup the journal to an external storage device. I was delighted to see the number of journalling apps after purchasing my iPad in 2010. Up to now I’ve been using IJournaler with its faux well-worn paper journal appearance. It is very pleasing to the eye and worked quite well. Unfortunately it was only available for my iPad. Not knowing when inspiration will strike, I want my journal at the ready whenever and wherever I am. The iPad is convenient to carry, easy to record my thoughts on but still, I wanted a quality product that worked across all my iOS devices AND my iMac. I recently came across Day One on the Mac app store which appeared to meet my needs, so once again I’m trying something new.

I’ve been enjoying Day One from, well, day one. Day One is a desktop, iPad, and iPhone app that syncs across your iDevices. No matter where you’re at, you can journal. Day One’s UI is clean, simple and best of all syncs across all my devices, iMac, iPad, and iPhone 4s via iCloud.  The app can reside in my iMac’s menu bar at the ready to record my thoughts. My journal can be locked with a password to keep prying eyes away. Upon start up I have it set to create a new entry, each with a timestamp so I can see how my thoughts unfold through the day.

Rather than me try to describe how Day One works, see the video below created by NextUpMac.

 I love journaling (which may partly explain my blogging) because it is a way review how life has unfolded and reflect on how I’ve reacted to challenges and opportunities over the years. Day One has, so far, been a wonderful way to accomplish this. Highly recommended.

About Michael Ritter PhD
Professor of Geography at the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point, science textbook author, educational technology blogger, podcaster, and freelance media consultant.

Leave a Reply

