The Twitter Times, Your Personalized Newspaper

twitter_times1One of the advantages of turning away from old media and analog sources of news and towards digital is the ability to filter news that’s important to you. I’ve done this by subscribing to particular RSS feeds from newspapers, organizations, and blogs that keep me updated through widgets placed on my iGoogle personal web page. But more recently I’ve turned to Twitter to keep me up-to-date with issues that I’m most interested in. Instead of the “I’m out having pizza” tweets, the people I follow are posting links to news articles and offering up tips important to my work as a professor. The problem I’ve found is that once I went beyond following fifty people, my Twitter stream became unmanageable and frankly, a bit distracting. I’ve used search to hone in on important topics, but this narrows my choices a bit too much. I’d like to a better way to get a overview of what the people in my Twitter network are posting. Enter The Twitter Times.

twitter_times2

The Twitter Times is your “real-time personalized newspaper generated from your Twitter account”. Twitter Times searches through the people you follow on Twitter, finds the links in their tweets, then publishes them as a custom “newspaper”. Time sensitive content appears in the main “What’s Hot” column and bigger trending stories on the right side of the page in the “Top News History” column . Clicking the headline sends you to the original site or  you can clicking the “show all text” button to expand the article in line.   A retweet button is also provided. Though it’s billed as a “real-time” newspaper, the content is updated once an hour.  You can also  read other user’s newspapers. Give Twitter Times a try.

About Michael Ritter PhD
Professor of Geography at the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point, science textbook author, educational technology blogger, podcaster, and freelance media consultant.

Leave a Reply

