Switch to a Mac

When Apple released their first Intel-based Mac I jumped at the chance to become a “switcher”. Tired of the eye-candy, crashing, and viruses that Windows is plagued with, I bought one of the first MacBooks … and I’m so happy I did. I’ve since replaced my University office desktop with a 20″iMac, bought a 24″ iMac for my home office, and use an iPhone (along with various iPods). They all play well together and can sync files, mail, contacts, calendars, etc. between them and with Mobile Me (previously known as .Mac).

Though I was concerned I’d be at a disadvantage given the standardization around Windoze that my university has been engaged in, I found that it’s just not that much of an issue. First, there is a Mac version of Office, though I rarely use it. I just don’t require such a bloated environment to do my work. Apple’s “Pages” works just fine and I can export files in WORD format AND as pdfs. There’s also several free applications like OpenOffice or Google Docs that play very nicely with Office. I switched to Dreamweaver, a much better product for Web site creation than MS Expression.

Thankfully I no longer use Internet Explorer because there isn’t an updated version for the Mac. I switched to Firefox long before I moved to a Mac anyway. There is an issue with accessing some of my University’s web sites IE is required to gain access to some resources. Web mail especially is an issue. However, Mac’s Mail app does work well with Exchange.

In the rare event that I need it, I simply fire-up Parallels Desktop for Mac and run Windoze along side OSX, something a regular pc cannot do. So whenever a colleague or friend exclaims that Macs are more expensive, I simply point out that I’ve got two computers packaged in one. Besides, several recent articles have shown that Macs aren’t more expensive …. and even run Windoze Vista better than a pc.

For more reasons and to debunk a few myths check out “PC Myths Debunked

If you’re in the market for a new computer, you really should check out a Mac.

About Michael Ritter PhD
Professor of Geography at the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point, science textbook author, educational technology blogger, podcaster, and freelance media consultant.

One Response to Switch to a Mac

  1. Pingback: Moving to a Mac » iPhone Tricks

Leave a Reply

